Field/Travel Knife Sharpening Advice

I'm new to knife sharpening and know more theory about the sharpening than the practical. I was wondering what you all use for sharpening kits when you travel or are out in the field? Most systems seem to be large and meant for home use or are free hand (I still don't know how to maintain a perfect edge when sharpening on a stone without guide etc.). In my situation what would you recommend? I've seen pull-through options but those seem limited and leave a lot to be desired.

For almost 40 years I've used a Spyderco Sharpmaker. It is part of my travel kit now.
It is the system Chris Reeve recommended and sold himself.

I actually don't like stones that cannot be pressed into field sharpening systems... in the field is where I need my knife sharp the most!

Personally I like having a very coarse stone, a medium stone OR a very versatile fine stone, and a loaded strop. Most of the time this translates into a 1x6" 220 grit diamond (electroplated or resin venev), a loaded strop (often just the inside my belt preloaded with diamond stropping spray), and then the medium or fine stone. Now that medium or fine stone changes alot based on whims honestly and also what kind of steel my knife is; sometimes it's a small 1x4" translucent arkansas or a jasper viking whetstone, sometimes it's the 800 grit boron carbide chinese made stone, sometimes a wastikivi natural stone. If I'm carrying the ark or jasper stone I use the diamond to either create a slurry or just rough up the surface before using it with water to increase cutting speed, then finish on just water (no slurry). If I'm just touching up the edge (90% of the time this) I use the fine pocket stone dry and thus that fine/medium stone actually is the one that sees the most use. The strop is just there for when I struggle with a burr.