hey I am new to kukris

do you guys make custom kukri?

I am sorry if it seems like a dumb questiion.

fill me in. I was in northern india and bought a small tourist one. I am familiar with some of the history. how they were developed from the greek "kopis" and got to india and were developed firther into the kukri they come in many sizes and it is the national emblem of nepal or tibet.

I am getting into them as my main knife and am looking for a decent size one preferably cold steel. mostly back packing survival type stuff.

are there custom makers out there?

thanks

chris

Welcome Chris,
If you go to www.cystern.com/khukuri that is Craigs web page and shopping site. You will find that all of the Khukuris are hand made. Totally. They are a far step up from Cold Steel. Take a look and see all of the varations that are avalible without even special odering. Take a look and see what yoyu think.

Hey Chris,
Fancy meeting you here! Welcome to the club. There are lots of different variations of the khukuri, each with it's own balance and feel. After you've checked out the GH web site, read through some of the archives on the fourm, there are lot's of good posts on these sturdy knives. Even a field review or two by yours truely;) :D

Patrick

after trying just about every imagineable knife design out.

I think the kukri covers all the bases.

compact for what it offers in cutting power.

I was thinking about a camp axe then I thought wow! a kukri is that and more. a machete, a camp knife and a great defensive tool
plus it looks cool and exotic :cool:

I am on board now I just gotta get one.

I am searching for one on the sale/trade forums. don't have cash right now. hopefully I'll find the right one.

it is funny I have friends in Nepal right now but I have to ask them to bring me back a huge knife and I doubt they would know a good one from a tourist one.

it would be funny if they brought me back a tourist one.
:eek: :eek:

Impatiently waiting

Chris,