how to care for knives

I have an old case knife with brass bolsters that are discolored. It is a hammer head. I have read somewhere there is something to clean it with and a type of wax/greese to put on it to store. Anyone have reconditions?
Thank you

I know Barkeepers Friend helps remove most staining. I also make sure that any oil I put on the blade doesn’t touch any other material than the blade. I’m not an expert, but it works for me

If it’s green verdigris then you have to remove it, Usually that happens from being stored in a leather sheath.

If it is just turning brownish instead of bright and shiny. You can leave it. It isn’t causing damage.

Nevr-Dull, Brasso, Flitz, Simichrome, Mother's Mag Polish, etc., will all work easily for shining up brass. Pretty much any metal polish will work. Brass is about as easy to clean and polish as anything you'll ever see.

You can also clean it and leave a satin finish on brass using a green Scotch-Brite abrasive scrubbing pad, of the type found in the kitchen cleaning section at the grocery store. I've liked that for hiding fingerprints & small scratches that would otherwise stand out on a high-polish finish. Also works well with nickel & stainless bolsters as well. I've used it on all three materials.

Last edited:
Your bolsters are probably nickel silver, rather than brass.
A good polish like Simichrome will remove tarnish easily. Make sure you get all of the polish out of the cracks and crevices.
Neutral paste shoe polish, car wax or paste wax is a good preservative.
Just a light coat of oil will work very well.

The knife mentioned by the OP is a Case Hammerhead pattern - a brass-framed & bolstered lockback along the lines of Buck's 110 folder. Most of Case's line are nickel silver-bolstered, but the Hammerhead and another similar pattern, the Mako, are the exceptions.