Pics of your handle material organization system?

David Mary

pass the mustard - after you cut it
Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
Looking for inspiration as mine could really use an upgrade. Just using resin shelves and cardboard boxes at the moment.

Oh, to have enough handle material to warrant an actual organization system ... maybe someday I can convince myself its necessary to have that much handle material.

Organization system...:rolleyes:
I'm extremely new to this and already know the pile I've been collecting will probably remain, but grow. I see this like I see my reloading tools and supplies, somewhere on the shelf, or the bench, or not.

Yeah when I don’t have orders or I have creative license on one I sometimes just shuffle contents from box to box looking for what will go together. At least I’ve gotten it to the point where each box basically has its own type of material though.

I have it in 6 wide by 14" long stackable inventory trays and in 12X12X3" covered storage bins. It makes it fast and easy to find the right block of curly maple, ebony, or persimmon. I'll take photos of the display at Harrisonburg this weekend. The trays all stack on each other as well as the bins. I keep the woods and ivories separated in bins/trays of only one type. One of the biggest advantages of the covered bins is ease of transporting them. I can stack 20 or more of the flat containers in the back of the van.
Micarta scales are in bins and trays as well, and large sheets are stored in milk crates.
Uncut boards are stored flat on shelves by species. 2X2" turning sticks are stored upright in drywall buckets.

I laughed out loud in joy as soon as I read “milk crates”! Gotta find me some of those!

You can buy them at many hardware stores and restaurant supplies ... as well as Amazon.
They come in square and rectangle, and all sizes can be stacked.

Organization system...:rolleyes: